Covid

Variant COVID Cases | Macon County Department of Health

This data counts the covid variants found in Macon County

Data Source

This data comes from Macon County Health Department. I look at their daily case-number infographics on facebook & write the numbers into a spreadsheet.

Links

Notes about this data set

  • Variant reports are shared in MCHD's Facebook COVID updates (in the text of the post). Only a few of the covid updates include variant updates.
  • Not all positive cases are sequenced for variants. It seems a very small portion are sequenced, actually.

General MCHD Data Reporting Notes

  • I have not collected case numbers throughout the pandemic, so I only have limited data available.
  • During periods of the pandemic, MCHD stopped posting upates
  • MCHD also used to post the infographics to their website. They stopped in August 2021.
  • MCHD does NOT make data available in spreadsheet format.
  • I have made FOIA requests for COVID data in a raw format, and my request was denied. They claimed it was unduly burdensome. I've heard from one other person who had a similar experience.

mchd-variants Downloads

Date Total Variants Report alpha gamma delta california beta mu
Fri, Oct 8 417 src 143 87 173 7 4 3
Fri, Oct 1 409 src 143 87 165 7 4 3
Fri, Sep 24 377 src 143 87 133 7 4 3
Fri, Sep 17 353 src 143 87 109 7 4 3
Fri, Sep 10 324 src 143 87 81 7 4 2
Fri, Sep 3 312 src 143 87 71 7 4 0
Fri, Aug 27 289 src 143 87 48 7 4 0
Fri, Aug 20 263 src 143 87 22 7 4 0
Fri, Aug 13 260 src 143 87 19 7 4 0
Fri, Aug 6 258 src 143 87 17 7 4 0
Fri, Jul 30 251 src 143 87 10 7 4 0
Tue, Jul 27 246 src 143 87 5 7 4 0
Fri, Jul 9 237 src 141 84 1 7 4 0